The road of
Encyclopaedia

In the footsteps of Diderot

The Plates of the Encyclopaedia


The Encyclopaedia is made up of 35 volumes:
- 21 of text,
- 12 of illustrations
- and 2 of tables.
In total, it contains 72,998 articles and 2,885 illustrations!

Diderot and D'Alembert called upon the greatest specialists of the time in their domain; a total of more than 200 contributors. The first historian of the sciences, Diderot used the Encyclopaedia to fight against corporatism, traditions and secrets. Only personal merit counted for him. This "universal and well-reasoned dictionary" would allow for knowledge to be put within reach of a greater number of people...

Diderot's vision for the Encyclopaedia was for one that include illustrations. Furthermore, though initially only 2 volumes of illustrations were planned, the final version would include 12. The artist Jacques-Louis Goussier was placed in charge of the Encyclopaedia's illustrated sections. He would devote more than 15 years to visiting workshops and manufacturers in order to draw the tools, machines, workers at work... Often, the crafts studied in the volumes are represented through multiple illustrations, with an overall view, and illustrations of tools, machines and their gears, etc. Texts linked to each illustration contain important data: tool names, machine operation, instructions...

The intention of the Encyclopaedia's creators can be clearly seen through these illustrations. They lavished attention on mechanisation and manual work, and idealised the work of the craftsman. The Encyclopaedia thus redeems the status of the workman, but does not reflect the actual working conditions.

Revolutionary in form, and the object of passionate disputes, the Encyclopaedia has its place in history as a faithful reflection of the Age of Enlightenment.

Enjoy your visit...

Plates of the Encyclopaedia

Legal notices | Site map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

La route de
l'Encyclopédie

Sur les pas de Denis Diderot

Les planches de l'Encyclopédie


L'Encyclopédie se compose de 35 volumes :
- 21 de texte,
- 12 de planches
- et 2 de tables.
Elle totalise 72 998 articles et 2 885 gravures !

Diderot et D'Alembert ont fait appel aux meilleurs spécialistes de l'époque dans leur domaine, soit plus de 200 collaborateurs. Premier historien des sciences, Diderot utilise l'Encyclopédie pour combattre le corporatisme, les traditions et les secrets. Pour lui, seul le mérite personnel compte. Ce " dictionnaire universel et raisonné " permet de mettre le savoir à la portée d'un plus grand nombre …

Diderot ne conçoit pas une Encyclopédie sans illustration. Aussi, de 2 volumes de planches prévus au départ, on en comptera 12 au final. Le dessinateur Jacques-Louis Goussier fut désigné comme maître d'œuvre des planches de l'Encyclopédie. Il consacra plus de 15 ans à visiter des ateliers et manufactures afin d'en dessiner les outils, les machines, les ouvriers au travail… Chacun des métiers étudiés est souvent représenté par plusieurs planches, avec une vue d'ensemble, des outils, des machines avec leurs rouages… Des textes liés à chaque planche apportent des données précieuses : nom des outils, fonctionnement des machines, manière de faire…

La pensée des encyclopédistes transparaît dans ces planches. Ils favorisent l'intérêt envers le machinisme et le travail manuel et idéalisent le travail de l'artisan. L'ouvrage réhabilite ainsi la condition du travailleur mais ne reflète pas les conditions réelles de travail.

Révolutionnaire dans la forme, objet de querelles passionnées, l'Encyclopédie s'inscrit dans l'histoire comme un fidèle miroir des Lumières.

Bonne visite...

Planche de l'Encyclopédie

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33