The road of
Encyclopaedia

In the footsteps of Diderot

In the Footsteps of the Gallo-Romans


"ANTIQUITY, this term is used to refer to past centuries".

Denis Diderot

The Encyclopaedia offers a rich panorama over Antiquity, through monuments, works of art, and objects related to everyday life. In these illustrations, we see bracelets, pendant earrings, amulets, and Roman headdresses and shoes...

Having settled on the Langres spur, seat of the ancient capital "Andematunnum", the Lingone people can also be linked to major archaeological sites in the Pays de Langres.

In the commune of Andilly-en-Bassigny, an impressive set of Gallo-Roman artefacts has been unearthed, and new objects continue to be discovered regularly. A large part of the villa (secondary residence and farm) has been preserved, notably the thermal baths. A Merovingian necropolis that was later set up in the ruins is also worth pointing out.

In Faverolles, a splendid tomb, over 20 metres in height, is also a joy for archaeologists. The relics of this mausoleum are displayed in the archaeological workshop found at the centre of the village. Finely-sculpted decoration charged with funerary symbolism lies around a large model: life-sized lions, "marine centaurs", funeral masks (Bacchus, Maenad, Silenus), weaponry bas-relief, columns, column capitals... Fitted out as a discovery trail, the archaeological site, situated in a forest, allows visitors to discover the remnants of the tomb in their own environment (burial ground, Roman roads, limestone quarries, lime-kiln, spring...)

Musee archéologique

To visit in Langres area :

Legal notices | Site map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

La route de
l'Encyclopédie

Sur les pas de Denis Diderot

Sur les pas des Gallo-romains


"ANTIQUITÉ, on se sert de ce terme pour désigner les siecles passés".

Denis Diderot

L'Encyclopédie offre un riche panorama de l'époque antique, à travers des monuments, des œuvres d'art ou encore des objets liés à la vie quotidienne. Sur cette planche on remarque des bracelets, pendants d'oreilles, amulettes, chaussures et coiffures romaines...

Implanté sur l'éperon langrois, siège de l'antique capitale "Andematunnum", le peuple lingon peut être aussi approché par des sites archéologiques majeurs en Pays de Langres.

Sur la commune d'Andilly-en-Bassigny, un impressionnant ensemble gallo-romain a été mis au jour et continue d'être fouillé régulièrement. Une grande partie de la villa (résidence secondaire et exploitation agricole) est conservée, notamment son complexe thermal. Une nécropole mérovingienne, venue s'implanter ultérieurement dans les ruines, est également à signaler.

A Faverolles, un somptueux tombeau, haut de plus de 20 mètres, fait lui aussi le bonheur des archéologues. Les vestiges de ce mausolée sont exposés dans l'atelier archéologique situé au cœur du village. Autour d'une grande maquette sont disposés ses décors finement sculptés et chargés d'une symbolique funéraire : lions grandeur nature, centaures marins, masques funéraires (Bacchus, Ménade, Silène), bas-relief d'armes, colonnes, chapiteaux… Aménagé en parcours de découverte, le site archéologique, situé en forêt, permet d'appréhender les vestiges du tombeau dans leur environnement (enclos funéraire, voie romaine, carrières de calcaire, four à chaux, source…).

Musee archéologique

A visiter en Pays de Langres :

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33